Monday, June 25, 2012

Randall Fox and Todd Murphy Announced as Leaders for GNTC's Board of Directors


Pictured left to right: Todd Murphy, Randall Fox, and Scott Tucker.


Media release: Georgia Northwestern Technical College (GNTC) announced at the June board meeting that Randall Fox and Todd Murphy will serve as chair and vice chair of the college's board of directors, beginning in July 2012.


Fox joined the college's board as a Gordon County representative in 2005. He is the president and general manager of Fox Systems, Inc.  Fox will serve a two year term as GNTC's board chair.


Having employed many graduates from GNTC at his company, Fox Systems, Inc.,  Fox says having skilled workers is vital to our communities.  "GNTC is a tremendous asset to Northwest Georgia and I believe we will continue to train and better prepare our students to excel in the workforce."


Fox has been an avid supporter of technical education for many years, stating "GNTC and all the technical colleges in Georgia play a vital role in workforce development and are an essential part of Georgia's ability to compete in a world industrial market."


"Randall has been a very vocal ambassador for Georgia Northwestern and has created opportunities for our college through his generosity and influence," stated Dr. Craig McDaniel, GNTC president.  "He will provide great leadership for our board."


Fox says he is looking forward to leading GNTC's Board of Directors into the next two years.  "I consider serving Georgia Northwestern one of the most rewarding positions in our community.  I am thankful and honored to be asked to serve in this capacity."


Murphy, who was appointed to GNTC's board as a Polk County representative in 2006, is a native of Rome, Georgia. He has worked at the HON Company in the Cedartown, Georgia facility since 1995.  He has held various engineering and manufacturing management positions with the company and is currently the vice president of manufacturing.


Murphy says he is looking forward to serving the college as vice chair of the board for two years and then moving into the position of chair.  "GNTC does a great job of understanding business and industry needs and preparing students for successful careers or further academic studies.  I am honored to serve in a leadership role on the GNTC Board of Directors and look forward to working with the board, faculty, and staff to meet the needs of citizens, communities, and companies in our service area."


"Todd has led the HON Company to unparalleled growth and has allowed Georgia Northwestern and the Georgia Quick Start program the opportunity to be a part of HON's success," said McDaniel.  "He has a strong commitment to workforce development and GNTC."


Also at the June meeting, Scott Tucker, current chair of the board, was honored for his service to the college.  Tucker, current president and CEO of United Community Bank of Chattooga County, will retire from his duties as chair on June 30, 2012.  Tucker will remain on the GNTC board of directors as a member.


When asked about Tucker's leadership as GNTC's board chair, McDaniel said, "Scott has provided excellent leadership to our board and college.  His guidance as we went through the merger and beyond was critical to the success we enjoy today.  I will forever be indebted to Scott Tucker."


GNTC's board serves both in a community advisory capacity and in a limited administrative capacity, performing certain oversight responsibilities as designated by state board policy. The local board is comprised of members from the business and industrial communities from nine counties in the service area (Catoosa, Chattooga, Dade, Floyd, Gordon, Murray, Polk, Walker, and Whitfield counties). State board policy defines the role and responsibilities of the local Board. Board members are selected because of their experience, ability, and dedication to deal with issues that relate to the mission of occupational education. GNTC's board of directors includes Brian Anderson, Whitfield County; Mary Sib Banks, Floyd County; Bob Berry, Floyd County; Brent Box, Gordon County;  Vann W. Brown, Whitfield County; Dr. Paul Ferguson, Floyd County; Randall Fox, Gordon County; Penny Grigg, Walker County; Dr. Carl Herring, Floyd County; Robert Hitchcox, Catoosa County; Anne Kaiser, Floyd County; Andrew Kearton, Whitfield County; Jimmy Lester, Polk County; Todd Murphy, Polk County; Rebecca Page, Dade County; Dr. Vickie Reed, Murray County; Scott Tucker, Chattooga County; Dr. Phillip Williams, Chattooga County; and Joe Yarbrough, Whitfield County.  


No comments: